Missing --backup / --backup-dir flags for safe destructive operations #97
Reference in New Issue
Block a user
Delete Branch "%!s()"
Deleting a branch is permanent. Although the deleted branch may continue to exist for a short time before it actually gets removed, it CANNOT be undone in most cases. Continue?
Description
FastSync has
--deletebut no--backupto save replaced/deleted files. rsyncs--backup-diris a critical safety feature for destructive operations.Location
Suggested Fix
Add
--backupand--backup-dir <path>flags. On the receiver, before overwriting an existing file, copy it to the backup directory preserving relative path. Requires Config changes and protocol extension.Severity
medium
Category
feature
Sub-Agent
feature-scout (FS-3)
This issue was automatically generated by the issue-creator agent.
Fixed in PR #148 — merged into main on 2026-07-29.